Home  -  Standards  -  Standards FAQ


I’m told sea containers are now part of the TSR Standard. Is TSR now multi-modal and can I now certify my sea containers for transport by road, rail and sea?

Sea containers transported over road by truck transport can be included in a TSR certification. There is also an additional option to include trucks, trailers and containers transported by rail if the rail transport provider can agree pre-conditions with a TSR certificate holder. However, for containers at sea, the TSR cannot specify mandatory requirements. In part, this is due to the fact that the TSR certification holder must have oversight and operational control of the services they manage. In addition, once a container goes into a seaport, the TSR operator hands over the control of what happens to the container to the port authorities and the shipping providers.

Other industry and regulatory requirements specify the security measures to be followed. These include:

  • ISPC (International Ship and Port Facility Security Code)
  • CSI (Container Security Initiative)
  • CTPAT (Customs-Trade Partnership Against Terrorism)
The strengths and weaknesses of these programmes are well documented and can be readily sourced from the internet. TAPA accepts that there is still room for improvement to address security risks to cargo transported by multi-modal methods but, with TSR 2020, we are making a significant step in the right direction.


Please click on the above image to download our latest conference video from Dublin!

New TAPA Brochure

Raising security standards within the supply chain.